top of page
  • undstudyabroad

Language Learning

Written by Melissa Bucholz



Hello everyone!

My name is Melissa Bucholz and I am a recent graduate in both International Studies and Criminal Justice with a minor in French. Whenever reflecting on my past experiences at the University of North Dakota, there is no doubt in my mind that the most dramatic, life-altering, and amazing experiences have been within my times(s) studying abroad. I studied abroad in Aix-en Provence, France in Spring 2017 and in Meknes, Morocco the 2108-2019 Academic year. I am taking this opportunity to talk about how the language learning process, focusing more on my time in Morocco, as I was learning more than one language.

Before I came to university, I did not know any other language besides English. Besides one ITV Spanish language course in high school, learning French was my first second language. Through a year online course through the University, and studying abroad in France, by the time I went to Morocco, I was beginning my third year of French, starting Modern Standard Arabic, as well as the Moroccan Arabic. Although Morocco is unique, due to the fact that they speak so many languages, it was important to me that I learn the best I can. I have always found learning the language while living in any country is simply described as a rewarding challenge.

Morocco speaks many languages, so describing my language experience is specific to each language. As for French, I took a French course, spoke with my host family in French, and used it at the beginning of my time abroad. Whenever I needed to express myself with a phrase longer than “hi,” “how are you,” “thank you,” or “I would like,” French was used because English was not as common. French is spoken by many, due to the colonization of Morocco by France, however, not everyone does, which is why it was important to me to learn the standard Arabic and the Moroccan Arabic.

Because there is sometimes confusion between the two, I’ll explain it the way as it was described to me. Standard Arabic is formal, it is almost like speaking Shakespeare English, where as the dialects are country and area specific, as modern, colloquial English. I took a full two years of the standard Arabic, which meant learning the alphabet, the ways the letters are written, connected, and pronounced. Although a challenge, it is so rewarding being able to learn a language with a completely different alphabet. As for the Moroccan dialect, there were also classes offered, which totaled in two credits. Which allowed me to speak and practice literally anywhere that I went, including with shopkeepers, restaurants, friends, family of friends, and anyone in between.

Wherever you go, language is a gateway into the culture. It is a way for you to connect with so many people, in different parts of the daily life. Although we are very lucky as English speakers, because English is language spoken very commonly throughout the world, knowing the language of the country that you are studying can be a major asset. Whether in classes, or self-taught learning any of the language within the host country is very worth it, and I hope you all get the chance to do so!



4 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page